Grand Avenue United Methodist Church
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Sunday Schedule
 
9:00 am
Sunday School
 
9:45 am
Fellowship
 
10:00 am
Worship
 
 
 
 
 
 

History

The Grand Avenue United Methodist Church was organized in 1887 with seventy-four members as a congregation of the Methodist Episcopal Church and became the first Methodist congregation organized in Stuttgart. This new congregation worshiped in a store building located at 426 South Main Street. The Rev. George Noble was the congregation's first pastor. A small frame church was constructed in 1889 at the present location and hosted the Arkansas Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1905 with Bishop William Fraser McDowell presiding and again in 1915 with Bishop Frank Milton Bristol presiding. The original frame building was replaced in 1941 by the present church, which was designed by the church's pastor, Roland E. Darrow, and was constructed by the men of the church, along with help from community friends, while the women of the church prepared their meals. The sanctuary and educational unit were debt free and dedicated by the Rev. Neil Hart, District Superintendent, on September 14, 1941. Building materials, some of the furnishings and the bell of the original church are included in the present building. The sanctuary light fixtures are from the First State Bank building once located at Third and Main in Stuttgart. A larger Fellowship Hall was added in 1958. The Grand Avenue Church has a rich history of worship, Christian education and programs for all groups, and for addressing human need both locally and internationally. It has been the church for various city mayors, school superintendents and community leaders, as well as for many ordinary Christians who have made extraordinary contributions for the Kingdom of God.

 
 
 Picture taken in 1940. You can see the pile of gravel which was used to lay the new foundation.